Benefits can come from being injured in an accident at the workplace. Every place of business has its own set of safety regulations to ensure that no one gets hurt. However, we do not live in a perfect world, and mistakes still happen, resulting in injury. If you suffer an injury because of a workplace accident, Florida injury attorneys can help.
Florida law allows you to get workers’ compensation benefits from your employer. This article covers the four different types of work comp payments. But first, let’s see who can receive workers’ compensation.
Florida Injury Attorneys Explain Who Can Receive Workers Compensation Benefits
Workers’ compensation is available to any injured employee while on the job. Business owners must get workers’ compensation insurance coverage from a commercial or private insurer. Florida law does not provide for government-funded policies.
If your employer does not have workers’ comp, you will not receive workers’ compensation benefits. Workers’ compensation regulations in Florida compel certain businesses to provide insurance for their employees. This includes the following:
- Businesses that employ one or more people in the construction business. This comprises business owners who are limited liability company members and corporate executives.
- Businesses with four or more employees in non-construction industries. This includes corporate officers and limited liability company members who are also business proprietors.
- Agricultural businesses with six full-time employees or 12 seasonal employees. The employees must work at least 30 days per season but no more than 45 days in a calendar year.
Suppose an official of a corporation or a member of a limited liability business wants to be exempt from the company’s workers’ comp coverage. In that case, they can request a workers’ comp exemption.
What Are the 4 Types of Workers’ Compensation Benefits?
In Florida, there are four categories of workers’ compensation benefits available to employees who are injured on the job or diagnosed with work-related illnesses:
Below, our Florida injury attorneys explain the different types of disability benefits available:
Temporary Partial Disability Benefits (TPD)
An injured worker gets this benefit if they cannot perform their regular duties and can only work part-time. Your current income must be less than 80% of what you earned before the accident to be eligible for this benefit.
Temporary Total Disability Benefits (TTD)
If your injury keeps you from working for an extended period, you are classified as having a temporary total disability and entitled to TTD benefits. Depending on the severity of your injury, you may be entitled to up to 80% of your lost wages when you reach maximum medical improvement (MMI).
The latter is a stage of recovery when the injured person’s health is predicted not to improve any longer. During your period of temporary total disability, you should receive two-thirds of your regular wages.
Permanent Partial Disability (PPD)
All workers who suffer an injury that prevent them from performing their usual duties for the rest of their lives are covered under the permanent partial disability benefit. These workers are rarely retained by their employers, and if they are, they are assigned to a job that is more suited to their reduced abilities.
The injured employee will continue receiving benefits even if they stop working with tier employer. Your impairment level determines the amount you receive as lost wages under PPD.
Permanent Total Disability (PTD)
Suppose a worker loses their ability to earn because of an accident that prevents them from performing their regular duties, and there is no chance of a complete recovery. In that case, they will be eligible for a permanent total disability benefit.
Permanent total disability benefits last until you reach the age of 75 or die. Like PPD, a doctor’s impairment rating determines the amount you’ll receive.
All medical expenditures and treatment related to any work-related accident in Florida are covered by workers’ compensation. Medical benefits include doctor’s appointments, emergency room visits, hospital stays, pharmaceuticals, physical therapy, and rehabilitation treatments. Workers’ compensation medical benefits also cover medical equipment like crutches and wheelchairs.
Medical costs are sometimes the only compensation for a work-related accident or sickness. Many workplace injuries aren’t severe enough to keep an individual from working, yet they require medical attention.
It’s worth noting that different levels of coverage are available under other employer workers’ compensation policies. As a result, some treatments may be excluded depending on your employer’s coverage. So, if your employer’s work comp policy covers surgery but doesn’t include rehab, the insurance company will not pay for rehabilitation.
Vocational Rehabilitation Benefits
Vocational rehabilitation payments are another sort of workers’ compensation benefit that you may be eligible for in Florida. For example, suppose an employee cannot return to their previous job due to a disability. In that case, they may be eligible for vocational rehabilitation benefits under workers’ compensation insurance.
The Florida Division of Vocational Rehabilitation is the body in charge of helping injured workers learn new skills to return to work in a different capacity. Therefore, you may receive money for tuition, professional or educational training, and certificates as part of vocational rehabilitation.
Many workers’ compensation insurance plans include two years of vocational rehabilitation. In addition, a disabled employee may be entitled to wage compensation for missed wages while undergoing vocational rehabilitation.
If an injured worker died within one year of the accident or five years of continuous disability, their survivors would be eligible for death benefits. In Florida, the compensation is up to $150,000, and funeral expenses have a cap of $7,500.
The class of beneficiaries covered under the law includes:
- Children under 18 years
- Children under 22 that are full-time students
- Children of any age who are unable to support themselves because of physical and mental limitations
If the deceased worker has no spouse or children, other surviving dependents will get the benefits. They include:
Were You or a Loved One Injured at Work? Get Help From Florida Injury Attorneys
You may be entitled to workers’ compensation insurance when injured at work. However, dealing with a workers’ comp process on your own might add to the already stressful situation. That’s when you should contact an experienced work comp legal team. Your lawyer will advise you on maximizing the amount of compensation you receive.
At Florida Lawyers 360, we handle many personal injury issues, including workers’ compensation claims. Our skilled and trustworthy attorneys staff has in-depth knowledge of Florida’s workers’ compensation legislation.
We’ll walk you through the whole process of filing a workers’ compensation claim. So contact us today for a free initial consolation with a personal injury attorney in Tampa. We work on a contingency fee basis.