Driving under the influence while intoxicated is illegal in Florida. In fact, drunk driving is automatically considered negligence because the driver consciously decides to break the law. Hence, drunk driving is a criminal as well as a civil matter at the same time. When you or someone in your family is injured in an accident caused by a person driving under the influence, you may require to file a personal injury lawsuit to recover damages from the drunk driver’s insurance company.
Tampa has its own share of drunk driving accident lawyers, but all of them are not created alike. You need to rely on a highly specialized Tampa DUI accident lawyer to handle your case and obtain compensation from the responsible party. Florida Lawyers 360 is your trusted partner to handle your drunk driving accident case. Our lawyers have extensive experience in handling drunk driving accidents and obtaining millions of dollars in compensation on behalf of our clients.
We will always treat your case as though it’s the most important in the world. In fact, our team of lawyers will treat you as a person and not just a number. The team brings a unique set of skills to our clients and is committed to providing outstanding results at all times. That’s why you need to hire an experienced car accident lawyer at Florida Lawyers 360 to handle your lawsuit. Call Florida Lawyers 360 at (954) 448-7355 to build a strong drunk driving accident case and obtain maximum compensation for your injuries.
Table of Contents
Drunk Driving Statistics In Tampa
The Tampa Police Department has a record of people arrested for DUI each year. The department made 2,087 DUI arrests in 2016 and 1,729 arrests in 2017. The number of arrests in 2018 was 1,332. Out of the 2,087 DUI arrests in 2016, 13.8% were DUI-related crashes.
From 2003 to 2012, more than 8,476 people were killed as a result of drunk driving accidents in Florida. In fact, there were more than 40,000 DUI arrests in Florida in 2014. Drunk driving fatalities usually cost taxpayers an estimated $3.5 billion per year. Men are 3.5 times more likely to be injured or killed in a drunk driving accident compared to women in Florida.
What Are The BAC Limits In Florida?
Drivers having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more are considered alcohol-impaired in the state of Florida. For commercial truck drivers, the BAC should be less than 0.04% while for drivers under 21 years of age, the limit is 0.02%. Driving under the influence is considered a crime punishable by law. Florida allows law enforcement to conduct random sobriety checkpoints to arrest drunk drivers and prevent drunk driving accidents.
There isn’t a minimum jail sentence for someone convicted of DUI in Florida. The driver can be sentenced from six to nine months depending on his or her BAC percentage. There is also a fine of between $500 and $2000 including fifty-hour community service for the first offense.
What To Do After An Accident With A Drunk Driver?
There are certain steps that you need to take when you are involved in a drunk driving accident. You may be aware or not aware whether the other driver is under the influence of alcohol at the time of the accident. But you should follow these steps when you are involved in such an accident:
Check if you are injured. You may not know whether you are injured or not due to the shock of the accident. If you have the slightest feeling of injury seek immediate medical help by calling 911.
Turn on the hazard lights of your vehicle and switch off the engine as you wait for the authorities to arrive at the scene.
Notify the police and obtain a copy of the police report when you are in a position to do so. Police reports can take from 1-3 weeks or longer at times. Make sure that you don’t admit fault for the accident unless you have spoken to a qualified drunk driving accident lawyer in Tampa, Florida.
Consult a drunk driving accident lawyer to handle your case. Many law firms in Tampa offer free initial consultations where you can evaluate the strength of your lawsuit. Make sure you talk to an attorney as soon as possible after the accident. The longer you wait, the less likely it’s to recover key pieces of evidence to prove your case.
What Damages Can You Recover After A Drunk Driving Accident In Florida?
You may recover compensatory and punitive damages from a drunk driver for the injuries you suffered as a result of a drunk driving accident. Compensatory damages include economic and non-economic damages such as medical claims, lost wages, property damages, and general damages for mental distress, pain, and suffering incurred due to the injuries you suffered.
Punitive damages are available when the plaintiff’s lawyer proves that the drunk driver was guilty of gross negligence. Punitive damages are meant to punish the drunk driver for his reckless behavior and deter other drivers from behaving the same way.
How Long Do I Have To File A Claim In Florida?
Florida’s statute of limitations comes into effect after four years from the date of the accident. You should file the case within these four years.
How Much Will A Tampa DUI Accident Lawyer Cost?
The drunk driving accident attorneys at Florida Lawyers 360 work on a contingency fee basis. Hence, you don’t have to pay anything unless our lawyers win your case. Once your case is won, you need to pay an agreed percentage of the compensation award.
When you are involved in an auto accident in Tampa caused by a drunk driver, Florida law allows you to claim compensation from the drunk driver’s insurance company. You need to hire the best personal injury lawyer in Tampa Florida to handle your case and obtain maximum compensation. Call Florida Lawyers 360 at (954) 448-7355 to build a strong drunk driving accident case and obtain maximum compensation for your injuries.