i just hate that Every year, there are millions of workers that are injured on the job. Approximately 0.9 out of every 100 workers sustain injuries that are serious enough to result in days away from work. Whether an injury is severe or minor, it’s necessary to report workplace injuries in order to access worker’s compensation benefits. Reporting a work injury in St. Petersburg can be a stressful time.
Having the support of an attorney when reporting an injury means you won’t have to worry about what you should and shouldn’t do. You’ll have an easy way to get answers to your questions, and you’ll be able to get guidance from expert workers’ compensation lawyers in St. Petersburg. Florida Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition specializes in cases involving workplace illness and injury, and our team can give you all the help that you need. Call us today at (786) 249-7999.
Table of Contents
How Long Do I Have To Report A Workplace Injury In St. Petersburg, Florida?
Any work-related injury or illness should be reported as soon as possible. Accidents should be reported within 30 days of the date that the accident occurs. Other injuries or illnesses must be reported within 30 days of the date when a physician informs you of your illness or injury. There is a two-year statute of limitations on filing a workers’ comp claim, and you will be barred from filing a claim after that period has passed.
Although you have up to 30 days to report an injury, it’s best to file a report sooner rather than later. Reporting an injury immediately makes it easier for you to establish that your injury was caused by your work. Acting quickly will also allow you to seek swift medical attention.
If your injury is not reported within the 30-day time limit, it could result in the denial of your claim. Failure to report an injury can make it difficult to accurately establish the date of the injury. Waiting to report an accident can also cast suspicion on your claim.
It’s common for workers to avoid reporting an injury because they believe that the injury is not serious or because they have concerns against employer retaliation. Florida law prohibits employers from firing employees for reporting an injury. Furthermore, Florida requires workers to receive authorized workers’ compensation benefits in order to keep a case open.
Who Do I Have To Report A Workplace Injury To?
If you are injured at work, the injury should be immediately reported to a supervisor. Although verbally informing your employer of the injury is sufficient, it can be helpful to report the injury in writing as well. This will create a paper trail that will allow you to build a stronger claim.
Since Florida has a statute of limitations on filing workers’ compensation claims, injuries should be reported immediately when possible. If you are not a federal employee, your employer may require you to seek treatment from a physician that is approved of by their insurance company.
After you have informed your employer of the injury, they should be able to provide you with the forms necessary to start a workers’ comp claim. If your employer refuses or is unable to provide you with these forms, you can obtain them by contacting the Florida workers’ compensation office.
What are the Employer Responsibilities After A Workplace Injury?
While employers are obligated to provide employees with a safe work environment, accidents can and do occur. After an employee injury has been reported, employers are responsible for ensuring that a First Report of Injury is completed. Once the document has been completed, employers must forward the claim to the company’s workers’ compensation carrier.
Employers must also cooperate with the workers’ compensation carrier throughout the investigation process. Any requested documents should be forwarded to the insurance provider as quickly as possible. Employers are also required to assist the Florida workers’ compensation board and to report suspicions of fraud.
When an employee is ready to return to work, employers must welcome the employee back into the workplace and comply with any recommendations from the employee’s physician. Employers are prohibited from penalizing or firing an employee because of an injury.
What are the Employee Responsibilities After Reporting A Work Injury in St. Petersburg?
As an employee, it’s your responsibility to report injuries in a timely manner. Once an injury has been reported and your employer has completed a First Report of Injury form, you will need to review the form to confirm that the information there is accurate. You should request a copy of the completed form for your personal records.
It’s also your responsibility to seek medical attention for your injuries, even if your injury appears to be minor. After you’ve reported your injury to your employer, you should ask them if you can visit your usual doctor or if there is a specific physician you need to see. Request copies of your medical records and provide them to your employer.
You should cooperate with your employer’s workers’ compensation carrier and comply with their requests. Failure to answer questions or keep medical appointments could cast suspicion on your claim. Behave responsibly and follow physician care recommendations whether you are in or out of work.
Although it isn’t necessary to hire an attorney for your workers’ compensation claim, it will be easier for you to meet these responsibilities and access the benefits you’re entitled to when you have an experienced lawyer on your side. You probably have a lot of questions about reporting a work injury in St. Petersburg. The team at Florida Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition are experts on state employment law and workers’ compensation regulations.
Call Our Experienced Lawyers Today When Reporting A Work Injury In St. Petersburg
If you’ve been injured on the job, there’s no time to lose. Reporting your injury right away will make it easier for you to access benefits and will increase your chances of having your claim approved. As an employee, you have the right to benefits if you’re injured on the job, and you should take advantage of those rights.
There are a number of problems that can occur when reporting work injuries, which is why you’ll want to partner up with Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition Florida as soon as you can. Call us at (786) 249-7999 to set up a free, no obligation case review.